Matthew 26:14-25 The Betrayal of Judas

One of the Twelve, who was called Judas Iscariot, went off to the chief priests and said, “How much will you give me if I hand him over to you?” They promised to give him thirty pieces of silver, and from then on he kept looking for the best way to hand him over to them.

As material for reflection for our Holy Wednesday celebration, let me share with you an inspiring article from Inquirer:

This came to me from Enid Sevilla. She worked in my office for five years, then went to the United States, where she became the right hand of Father Bud Kieser, CSP, the producer of Paulist Productions in Hollywood. Bud died recently, and now Enid is the director of Paulist Productions. This is the story that she sent to me:

Several years ago, a priest from out-of-state accepted an assignment to a church in Houston, Texas.

Soon after he arrived he had an occasion to ride the bus to the downtown area. When he sat down, he discovered that the driver had given him a quarter too much change.

As he considered what to do, he thought to himself: “You’d better give the quarter back. It would be wrong to keep it.”

Then he thought: “Oh, forget it! It’s only 25 cents. Who would worry about this little amount?. . . . Anyway, the bus company gets too much fare. They will never miss it. Accept it is a gift from God and keep quiet!”

When his stop came, he paused for a moment at the door. Then he handed the quarter to the driver and said: “Here. . . . . .You gave me too much change.”

The driver smiled and said: “Aren’t you the new priest at Sacred Heart Parish?. . . . I have been away from the Sacraments for a long time. . . . But I have been thinking a lot lately about going back to God. . . I just wanted to see what you would do if I gave you too much change. . . . I’ll see you at Mass on Sunday.”

When the priest stepped off the bus, he literally grabbed the nearest light pole, held on, and said: “Oh God, I almost sold your Son for a quarter!”

Our lives are the only Bible some people will ever read. This is an example of how much people watch us as Christians, and put us to the test. You carry the name of Christ on your shoulders when you call yourself “Christian”.

– James B. Reuter, They did it right! Inquirer, Saturday, March 29, 2008

Prayer

God our Father, until the time of the printing press, people copied the Gospel, writing it by hand.

Slowly the Gospel took shape – both on the page and deep within themselves.

I ask that the Gospel – the Good News of your love – may be written in me not with ink but with the Spirit of God (2 Cor 3: 3)

Only then will I grow as a credible witness of the wealth of your love. Day by day, as the pages of my own life turn over, remind me that you write my name on the palm of your hand (Is 49:16).

I ask this prayer through Jesus, who is your Word, living amongst us. Amen

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

